It’s Christmasssssssssss! (Almost)

I’ve been busy…again! Graduations. Doctor Who. Work. Illness. Blah blah blah.

December is coming! Christmas isn’t a really big thing in my family…but it’s certainly a thing! My boyfriend however has never received a Christmas present from anyone except me because his family just don’t celebrate it. This year he’ll be celebrating with my family and will get to experience Christmas like I think it should be for the first time.

On the 1st of December, we get cheap £1 advent calendars to count down until Christmas. It’s purely for the chocolate. We put up the Christmas tree and decorations. We also recently bought a light up reindeer that goes outside in our garden.

christmas_pikachu_by_the_pink_vodka-d5p3xw1

My parents have informed me they are banning stockings this year (ruining the fun 😦 ) because me and my brother are too old and they’d have to make one for my boyfriend too. We used to wake up each morning and spend an hour opening lots of tiny presents in there while we let our parents sleep for a bit longer before going downstairs for our main presents under the tree.

We then spend the morning eating pain au chocolat’s or croissants (breakfast treat!) and opening our presents under the tree. After that we spend a bit of time just messing about with our presents before getting ready to go out to our Grandparents house. This year I think they are coming to our house though.

We have a massive Christmas dinner, usually of beef because none of us really like turkey, with lots of vegetables and roast potatoes. We have crackers and all wear the funny hats that come out of them. We then have puddings; things like jelly, Christmas pudding or cheesecake, which normally none of us really want because we’re too full. The leftovers usually last us the rest of the week.

xmas_place_setting

We then just relax a bit or play games until tea time. We have a mini buffet because we’re all still full! Just things like crackers, cheese and crisps. We then all watch the Doctor Who Christmas Special and any other Christmas-y TV that is on.

Everyone then goes home and we all go to bed tired! I hope my boyfriend will enjoy it. I always feel like Christmas is something you can look forward too all year. I wouldn’t want the feeling that there is nothing to look forward too.

How do you guys celebrate Christmas in your family, and in your country?

(P.S In December 2012, I went to Hong Kong for the first time with my boyfriend, so I’m going to be posting about the trip over December this year. Sorry if you’re not interested in Hong Kong but that’s probably all you’re going to get for the month!)

Image: the-pink-vodka.deviantart.com, christmasstockimages.com

6 thoughts on “It’s Christmasssssssssss! (Almost)

  1. you should go to some ‘British Pound Tree’ (I really don’t know if you have those ‘dollar store’) and get yourself a sock, I will get for us including our cat, haha 🙂 I will soon make a post about my traditions because there’s a lot to say. a looooot 🙂 I cannot wait for Christmas!
    btw. it’s so funny – in UK and America you open gifts on 25th, in Poland on 24th 🙂

    • We have stockings, but no one is going to put anything in it if I hang one up this year 😛

      Ooo, how strange! You know in the old days, we used to open the presents on the 26th – that’s why it’s called Boxing Day 😀

  2. it’s the first time my boyfriend is celebrating xmas in Europe also, with my family, i will definitely get us stockings ! gotta show him how it’s done ! 😀 haha .. In Norway we also celebrate on the 24th, 😀 and we dont open any presents in the morning, it’s all at night time.. 🙂 Cant wait!

Leave a Reply

