I’m back! (with Moon cake!)

I am back from a trip to my boyfriend’s parents house. I didn’t see much of them – we were quite busy seeing friends from Hong Kong. We went ice skating, bowling, to the cinema, to the park, to the shopping centre and high street shops, to a Chinese buffet, to several restaurants and to cake shops. I’m so tired now! I also managed to practise my Cantonese with them. (I kept saying Chest Cat…more on that later)

While I was there, I tried some moon cake. This is basically very delayed, as you’ve all blogged about moon cakes already, but it was my first time trying it so I feel the need to post! My boyfriend stocked up on lots of Chinese noodles from the Chinese supermarket, as we have no idea where one is near where we are living now, and while we were there we saw the moon cakes being sold off and he decided to buy one for me to try.

BVwIX-8IUAA7Wnf

BVwIpW1IAAEWjqT

Can anyone tell me what the characters on the moon cake and packaging mean?

It looks so pretty…but me being me, I didn’t like it. I can see why people do like it though. The lotus seed paste wasn’t as horrific as I’d first though. It tasted quite nutty. The egg yolk inside it however was pretty nasty. You don’t need that! After a few bites, I decided I’d had enough and my boyfriend downed the whole thing in about 2 bites.

BVwIcPbIUAASN0H

My friend from Hong Kong told me that the Haagen Dazs shops do a chocolate ice cream version of a moon cake…I want one! Though I guess I’ll never get one if it means having to go to Hong Kong in September – I couldn’t stand the weather! So that’s another piece of Chinese cuisine I don’t like. I’ll keep searching for something I do like though and you’ll definitely all know about it when I find it!

Anyway, just a short post. Lots of you want the rest of the story of how I met my boyfriend. I’ll get to writing that and post it over the next week. Stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “I’m back! (with Moon cake!)

  1. you might try different types of mooncakes, this one is Cantonese style – lotus paste is delicious but I hate the yolk as well 🙂 on the other hand my husband loves it. Taiwanese/Shangainese style has a different skin texture, you can try it as well. even Starbucks make mooncakes around mid-autumn festival haha 🙂
    about characters – it’s usually fortune, but I cannot really read it, if you’re patient I will wait for my husband to come and read it 🙂 great you had fun 🙂

    • It’s hard because I have no idea where I could buy them! They’re not really available in the UK! Or maybe they are and I don’t know where to get them from.

      My boyfriend could probably read it for me but he is at work. He’ll probably start sighing at me if I ask anyways 😛 I expect you are right and it means Good Fortune.

  2. You guys are too cute. It says “榮華” Wing Wa on the mooncake which is the name of the company that makes them. http://www.formen.com.tw/cgi-bin/life_view.cgi?/2008/8/a8800079.t+a2+b-1+/o/143003+/2008/8/a8800079.d+/o/143003.x+c1+c2+c3+c4+c5+c6+d1
    The wrapper is read from right to left in this case “大榮華月餅” Daai Wing Wa Yut Beng(Big Wing Wa mookcake).

    Actually mooncakes come in a variety of different tastes and sizes as well as with and without the egg yolk. There are also many different types of “Bing Pei” or snowskin mooncakes which are filled with things like ice-cream, taro, custard, green tea, and other delicious fillings. I’m sure you would love them!!!

  3. I had these last month too. When I was a kid they used to have eggless ones (just pure lotus paste, stuff will rot your teeth!), but nowadays they come in yellow and red intricately packaged boxes or tins as variety packs, some with weird nuts in (which are gross), some with egg. The latter is the only one I can eat, I’ve found that you can easily get rid of the egg by cutting it in quarters and then scooping the egg out. That’s what I do anyway.

  4. I was hoping to eat my first mooncake when I was in Hong Kong last month but I didn’t get a chance to. I would have passed on the lotus filled one anyways, a chocolate or custard one was what I was looking for. But since you were brave enough to to eat the lotus one I will have to try it sometime!

Leave a Reply

