I don’t know about you, but i’m feeling 22

At the end of July, I turned 22. I don’t actually feel 22. (I just felt like getting a Taylor Swift quote in the title)

I’m actually often mistaken for a 16 year old – I think it’s because I do look younger than I am mixed with the fact that I don’t wear make-up and I don’t dress very adult-y. I’m a jeans and t-shirt sort of person. But I’ve finished University and I’m looking for a job. I’m officially an adult no matter how much I don’t feel like one.

Yes, I’ve been allowed to have sex, get married and smoke for 6 years (smoking age actually changed from 16 to 18 when I was 16 but who cares, I don’t want to smoke), I’ve been allowed to drive for 5 years and I’ve been allowed to drink, gamble, go clubbing and vote for 4 years…but due to the fact I don’t overly care about those things, being allowed to do them hasn’t made me feel any older.

embrace2_banner

This doesn’t make me feel older. It usually just makes me feel a bit bored…

But I admit, I don’t feel the same as I did when I was 18. I have grown up a lot and I think I have changed significantly. Going to University and falling in love are the main 2 things that affected me. At the age of 19 I moved 250 miles away from my parents to live on my own. At the age of 20 I first had sex. At the age of 21 I left Europe to go to Asia for the first time, and it was my first time on a plane without my parents. At the age of 22, if all goes to plan, I should be moving in to my first real flat or house with my boyfriend. All that has definitely made me a different person but for the better. I am more confident, more independent, more sociable (still not very sociable but that’ll never change) and more understanding of the world. I’m not the same person I was 3 years ago…but that still doesn’t make me feel old enough to be an adult!!!

MungoBlobs-1350377225968

Living in halls of residence and meeting my boyfriend really changed me.

Recently, my Mum revealed to me that she met my Dad when they were 22. I had wrongly assumed that they were around 25 when they got together. I don’t know why but it really surprised me to think that they got together when they were at my age. For me a relationship is an adult thing. I don’t believe many people are old enough for a real relationship before the age of 18, though admittedly there are  fair few people who are under 18 and much more mature than many adults. I know I definitely wasn’t ready before I was 18 years old, or after for that matter! Now when I really think about what is happening in my life, with my relationship and with my age…it makes everything seem a bit more real that it did before.

I see all these 13 year old girls dressing up like they are in their 20s and often you can’t tell! You can see why some guys end up sleeping with under age girls, it’s not obvious at all. I’m not condoning it but if a young girl who looks 20 is leading them on, they aren’t going to ask for a birth certificate. These girls often look a lot older than I do. I just think, why would you want to grow up!? Being a teenager is so much fun. I admit, late teens is more fun than early teens – you can do what you want, you can live by yourself, you can have fun and you have no responsibilities. I miss university so much already and I only finished it a few months ago.

Maybe everyone at some point feels like they aren’t old enough for the life they are living…or maybe I am just desperate to not grow up. 

Images: dontstayin.com

16 thoughts on “I don’t know about you, but i’m feeling 22

  1. don’t worry, you get older every second, haha 🙂 cannot avoid it, but I think you will feel the difference when you start working completly on your own, with your boyfriend, need to pay the bills, need to save up for something… I’m 22 as well but sometimes I feel like an old lady, I wish I could have so much energy as you do 🙂

    • Thanks for that 😉

      I think you are right, once I actually have a flat and a job i’ll feel my age. I’ll try my best to always be as happy and energetic as a child though!!! 😀

  2. I’m 21 and that kind of scene makes me feel bored too! Haha. I totally know what you mean about not feeling like an adult yet. I’ve talked to women who were 30, married, and with kids and they said they still don’t feel like an adult, they’re just going through the motions. Maybe we won’t ever truly feel like one. Ha! When I was younger, I thought girls at age 21 were very old. It’s all perspective.

    • I’m glad i’m not the only one, I felt a bit left out because I didn’t like pre-drinking then going out and drinking again until 4am…but everyone else I knew did! >_<

      Oh yeah, I remember thinking anyone in their 20s was old up until I was 18 😛 I think i'll feel like a teenager for a long time, but sadly at some point i'll have to stop acting like one!

  3. OMG this is SO me! i can totally relate to this! also those two major things have affected my life and changed me complete: university and love! especially my time abroad in China formed the base for my life now. I am turning 22 in February and going back to live with my boyfriend in April. Everything has changed and everything becomes real. but still, I feel so old but also look much younger than I am.

    Sometimes I think it’s crazy how much I personally changed in such a short time. I got to set priorities and real goals for my life. Sometimes its very hard to make decisions because you might hurt someone but in the end, you need to do what it’s right for you.

    GREAT BLOG POST!

    • I’m glad people can relate! I thought it was just me! I think everyone should move away for University, whether it is 1 hour or 20 hours away from home. Too many people I know stay at home and I don’t think you get the same experience and can grow up as much!

      Though now I feel old because everyone I’m meeting online through AMWF blogs seems to be 21! ;P

  4. Do you still have any of your wisdom teeth? You know, these teeth are so called because they grow so late in life and so their presence was regarded as a sign that a person has developed “wisdom”, that he/she has achieved adulthood. However, since wisdom teeth are also often problematic and need to be removed, in modern times it is the removal of them that has become a kind of rite of passage for becoming an adult.

    All that is to say that if you still have your wisdom teeth, it’s a good excuse for feeling and acting like a kid. 🙂

  5. YES! I moved out for university when I was 18! i lived on my own for 2 years there and then moved to China for 8 months and now San Diego until March. It is SO important. It made me become so mature and responsible. And i also think it is very important to go and live abroad! It formes your mind and really make you see your home country in another light.

    • I went to Uni at 19 and I learnt so much. I didn’t know how to cook before then! 😀 I don’t think so much about living abroad, but I think it’s important to know foreign people and travel a little bit!

  6. All of my friends make fun of me and call me an old lady. I just turned 21 (and got engaged, got a job, etc). I find it difficult to hang out with people my own age, since I got most of my “clubbing fix” done when I lived in Africa in my early teens (13 – 15).

    It’s just… weird….
    When I’m in Japan, I always tell people I am 25. It’s just a lot easier. Age is just a number 🙂

    • Hmm, I think that might be better than me being called a kid! No one would believe I was older than I am if I told them. When we buy child and student tickets in places like cinema…they always ask my 16 year old brother for the student card instead of me! <_< Though I seem to manage to be friends with all ages of people. My best friends are 22 and 28 and I'm meeting up with an 18 year old girl i've been chatting to online next week who just moved from Hong Kong to my university city – so age really is just a number! I got my clubbing over fairly early too, when I was 16-17 at college…I just have better things to do now 🙂

Leave a Reply

