Tokyo 2020

You may or may not have seen the news yet, but Tokyo has just been announced to host the 2020 Olympics. It’ll be back to Asia for the first time since the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. I think I know where I want to go in 2020!

My boyfriend and I really want to go to Japan at some point, but the problem is when. We don’t have enough money at the moment and I really want to go back to Hong Kong first. I loved the London Olympics. I went to one of the Equestrian events and also a Paralympic event which were both amazing, and I want to go to another Olympics in a different country one day…so maybe waiting 7 years for this would be a good idea? It might be VERY busy though.

Together with my boyfriend, we have complied a list of things we would like to see in Japan. I don’t know too much about Japan so these are just a few things we found while searching the internet:

Square Enix Showcase, cafe and shop
I am a big fan of the Final Fantasy series, so this would be a really cool place to check out. My boyfriend wouldn’t be too interested, but he’ll have to put up with it. 😉

img_4897

Image from espadakiller.wordpress.com

Pokemon Center
It’s a shop full of Pokemon. If that had existed in the UK when I was 10 years old I would have been the happiest child in the world. As my boyfriend said, as a Pokemon fan, not going to a Pokemon Center would be foolish.

123

Image from web-japan.org

Hot Springs
Onsen. This sounds really cool, though I won’t be wanting to go if I have to go in a girls only hot spring or i’m not allowed to wear a swimming costume…It would be a once in a lifetime kind of thing.

123

Image from Japan-Guide.com

Cherry Blossom Trees
I think these blossom the best in the spring so if we went for the Olympics it would be at the wrong time, but really Japan without seeing cherry blossom is just wrong!

123

Image from wong-avenue.tumblr.com

 

Yakushima
Beautiful National Park, but probably too far away.

123

Image from japan-guide.com

Mount Fuji
My boyfriend suggested this, but it’s something I would love to see too, especially after studying Hokusai at school and seeing it in his famous series of woodblock prints.

123

Image from slorker.com

Himeji Castle
When my boyfriend mentioned this, I was expecting a typical castle like you see in the UK, but this looks very impressive and very Japanese! Apparently it’s one of the largest and oldest castles in Japan.

123

Image from wikipedia.org

Tokyo Disneyland and DisneySea
What can I say, I love Disney!

123Image from tokyodisneyresort.co.jp

Akihabara
My boyfriend has a program on his computer with lots of CCTV camera films from around the world. The one for Japan shows Akihabra which apparently has lots of great shops!

123

Image from japan-guide.com

Rainbow Bridge
When my boyfriend mentioned Rainbow Bridge, I was thinking of the depressing poem about where animals go when they die, but actually it looks very pretty.

123

Image from bitrebels.com

Kiyomizu-dera
A temple in Kyoto on a hill, with impressive views.

123

Image from Wikipedia.org

The Imperial Palace and Edo Castle
I don’t know much about this, except that the Emperor lives here! 😉

123

Image from hiren.info

Tokyo Tower
It looks a lot like a more colourful version of the Eiffel Tower.

123

Image from tripadvisor.com

Tokyo Skytree
It’s a big broadcasting tower… 😛

123

Image from jdjapan.wordpress.com

Hiroshima
Probably far too hard to get too from Tokyo, but my boyfriend would like to see this. It’s a huge part of history so I’m sure it would be an amazing thing to visit.

123

Image from news.bbc.co.uk

Does anyone else have more suggestions of places to visit in Japan? I’ve got 7 years to plan this trip, I might as well start now 😉

16 thoughts on “Tokyo 2020

  1. My husband been there many times, I`ve never been there but there`s one magical place I love, he promissed me it will be our honeymoon – still we haven`t been there but if you have a chance go to https://sphotos-a-sjc.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/349_46005631480_8823_n.jpg in kumamoto prefecture, i think if you just look for onsen hotels there you would seethis one, i fell in love with it <333 hope we can meet in japan before! also you can get some cheap flights from hk to jp the other way would be more expensive, i think air asia should have a flight like that 🙂 have fuuuuun! oh and think about train pass, it`s bit expensive but my husband was with his friend just ike `do you feel like taking a train to osaka?` and just go and come back the same day 🙂

    • I don’t know what it is about Japan but it just all looks so different and beautiful to anywhere else in the world! I just wonder if I could get enough time off work when I get a job to cover a visit to both Hong Kong and Japan, I think I’d want 2 weeks in each! I saw those train passes. They are SO expensive, but then if you’re going to Japan you might as well splash out with the money a bit 😉

  2. What kind of computer program does your boyfriend have that allows him to see CCTV footage from around the world? I didn’t know such a thing existed!

  3. I’ve always been curious to see the Tsukiji Fish Market. I imagine it wouldn’t smell great due to all the seafood, but I’ve been curious to see everything they sell there.

    • Part of me would be fascinated by something like that…but I think i’d cry if I saw it. I’m an animal loving Brit and I find the way animals are treated in Asia really hard. D:

    • I don’t think you’d find any exceptional instances of animal cruelty at the fish market, though. I mean, fish markets are more or less the same around the world and the only difference with fish markets in Asia is that the people there may put more emphasis on keeping live animals for maximum quality/freshness.

      • That’s the problem! All those fish/crabs/lobsters etc stuffed into tiny little boxes of water where they have no space to move before being killed, probably inhumanely. That isn’t allowed in the UK as there are welfare laws in place. I was fairly horrified by Hong Kong, I didn’t make it past the first shop in the Goldfish market, let alone anywhere else. I know it’s their culture but it’s not a part of culture i’ll ever be able to be happy with.

  4. I understand how you feel because I grew up in the States despite being born in Vietnam. I was only 5 months old when we escaped. But, I learned that their emphasis is not cruelty. Their palate is based on freshness. It’s gotten to the point where they could tell when something has been harvested a few minutes vs. a few days. Think about it. If you bought a salad that was a few days old, you could tell by the wilted ends of the leaves and such that it is not as appetizing. Seafood degenerates VERY quickly. Because of that, the taste is much different depending on the sensitivity of your palate. Would you rather have a salad that I just picked fresh out of the ground and cleaned immediately or would you rather have a salad that’s been refrigerated for about 5 days. I’m pretty sure you could tell the difference. For these people, it’s the same thing. They are not out there to be cruel. It’s about the quality of their food. Does it make it any easier to deal with the cruelty? Not really, but the emphasis has NEVER been about cruelty.

    • I understand they aren’t trying to be cruel, I think they just don’t realise what they are doing. But I still do not agree that something like that should happen just because someone wants their food to be a little bit tastier. (I couldn’t tell if a salad was freshly picked or refrigerated for 5 days, I just hate all salad! 😀 I know what you mean though.)

      Also, I’m sure lots of Asian’s will think of me as wimpy British girl and when I think about it, it is fairly stupid, but I just couldn’t eat anything if i’d seen it alive beforehand. All vegetarians will hate me but I need to disconnect the meat I eat from the animal.

  5. The return flight are very cheap last month, virgin-atlantic £495. if you look at these 4 airlines – BA, ANA, JAL and Virgin. sometime you can get very deal around £598 return. good luck. 😉

      • the places I always to go in Japan. Harajuku, Aoyama, Shibuya, Ebisu, Meguro, Yoyogi, Roppongi, Koenji, Yokohama and Kamakura. I don’t why I feel Japan is my second home? 😓

  6. I know! I know! take CX to Japan stopover Hong Kong for few days. BINGO! 😀
    Jap travel agency offer this, give Gendai travel a call. now it’s around £628

Leave a Reply

